IIGEP International Independent Group of Eminent Persons

FOR RELEASE ON 30 April 2008

Colombo, 30 April 2008 Contact: IIGEP Public Information Office Colombo Hilton Residence, Suite 705 No. 200, Union Place, Colombo 02, Sri Lanka Tel: +94 (0) 11 2300306/8/9 Email: <u>iigep@iigep.org</u>

PRESS RELEASE

The Members of IIGEP Stand by their Concluding Public Statement

The Government of Sri Lanka has proclaimed that Justice PN Bhagwati, Chairman of the IIGEP, has clarified the IIGEP's assessment that the Government of Sri Lanka lacks the political will to ensure the success of the Commission of Inquiry. The Members of the IIGEP stand by the clear assertions of their Concluding Public Statement, and disassociate themselves from any attempt by the Government of Sri Lanka to reformulate and re-interpret that unanimously agreed text

In fact, the letter to H.E. the President from Justice PN Bhagwati merely expresses the obvious, namely that the IIGEP cannot know for sure, but fears ('apprehends') that the political will is absent. It is lamentable that the Government of Sri Lanka continues to divert attention from the central truth in this matter – that is, the problem of impunity for serious human rights violations and the need for the Commission to get to the bottom of that impunity.

The IIGEP's positions, including its observations of the work of the Commission, are reflected in the six public statements it has made, which are available at the IIGEP website (<u>www.iigep.org</u>). They contain all the information necessary to refute all the smears and misrepresentations levelled by the Government of Sri Lanka against the IIGEP and its eminently professional Assistants.

END

The IIGEP consists of the following 11 Eminent Persons: Justice P.N. Bhagwati (India) (Chairman), Judge Jean-Pierre Cot (France), Mr. Marzuki Darusman (Indonesia), Mr. Arthur E. "Gene" Dewey (USA), Prof. Cees Fasseur (Netherlands), Dr. Kamal Hossain (Bangladesh), Prof. Bruce Matthews (Canada), Mr. Andreas Mavrommatis (Cyprus), Prof. Sir Nigel Rodley (UK), Prof. Ivan Shearer (Australia) and Prof. Yozo Yokota (Japan).